Semi-long story behind that, but suffice it to say that I was supposed to write a testimony (for how I came to know Jesus) in 150 words or less. So here’s what I ended up with:

I grew up in a Christian family where I learned about the Gospel and Jesus, and believed it personally, from as early as I can remember. As a Christian, I knew that my relationship with God had to be something I committed personally to. So, when I was quite young, perhaps 6 or 7, I remember praying to ask Jesus into my heart to be my Lord and Savior. I did it so I could know there was at least one specific time I asked Jesus into my life, with words.

Though most of my growing up years were spent self-centeredly and always looking for more “fun”, God has been graciously growing me over recent years to center my life on Him and the things He is interested in. Walking with God is difficult, especially when I can’t explain everything, but He has called me to obey and trust Him.

I’m assuming that Willingdon will want me to pick a favorite verse (or, hopefully, verses), so I want to read this out (in a mix of translations):

1 Peter 2:9, 11
“But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.

…Beloved, I urge you, as “temporary residents” and strangers in the world, abstain from the passions of the flesh, which wage war against your soul.”
– (ESV, NLT, and NIV)

And, finally, the obligatory gratuitous photo:

Cloudy dusk

Cloudy dusk
