Psalm 63:3 – Because your steadfast love is better than life,
my lips will praise you.
(ESV)

In 2 Timothy 2:3-4, Paul tells Timothy: “Share in suffering as a good soldier of Christ Jesus. No soldier gets entangled in civilian pursuits, since his aim is to please the one who enlisted him.” (ESV)

But do we live like that? I don’t. I live like a civilian, entangled by my own laziness and room for complacency. But I seek repentance and ask God to change who I am, each day, so that I can live according to His call. And this is what each of us must do, no matter our age or stage of life. And at the very least, we need to start living like it in all areas of our lives, whether it’s with our money, our time, our influence, and even rest & recreation (yes, there’s a place for that, I believe). And our friends and relationships.

The alternative is to lose ground to the sin that so easily entangles, and fail to gain ground for the Kingdom of God. And it’s not just “ground” that we’re trying to gain – think of that territory as being occupied/oppressed by the “god of this age” (Satan). Those people need liberation, and those of our own family (i.e. Christians) who are being shot at by Satan and co. need help. God intends us, as Jesus’ body, to step in.

But we can’t do that if we’re unfaithful servants (I, uh… know what that’s like 😦 ). And now for John Piper…

