So, I was talking to my friend Jill and a couple others today about Windows Vista, and how I don’t want to switch to it, and how I’m hoping that I’ll be able to make do with Windows XP for now, even though Microsoft says it will stop supporting (updating) it…

Anyways, lo and behold, look at what news story I find! Apparently, Windows 7 (the new version of Windows to succeed Vista) could be “released” as soon as late 2009! Now, it’s fairly ambiguous to me whether Bill Gates is talking about just a beta release, or a release candidate, or w/e… but this article from Jan 2008 indicates a “release to manufacturing” date of the second half of 2009 (this news was from a “roadmap” that Microsoft released). I’m guessing that means they aim to release a final version of Windows 7 to manufacturers to produce (onto CD/DVD), which doesn’t necessarily mean that we will be able to buy a copy right away. Or that they’ll even meet that goal to begin with.

But anyways, I’m excited, because Windows 7 is pegged to be RADICALLY different from Windows Vista (which is a very, very good thing). In fact, it’s going to be radically different from all Windows versions before it, while still allowing for some backwards compatibility (with old programs). One problem with Windows Vista is that it maintained backwards compatibility by being really, really bloated. That’s what you get for trying to please everybody on their own terms, instead of doing your own thing and setting boundaries (such as, you can still work with me, but on my terms, and it’s too bad if you’re a little slower). I’m not sure if that’s an accurate description of what’s really going on, but it does make a good object lesson for real life, though 😀

Anyways, in summary: I just need to hold out with my Melly for 1-2 years! We can do that! She still runs like a dream (ok, not really). I will say this, though:

A good laptop is like a good woman:
I don’t know where I’d be without her.

(To those who are offended:) It’s just an analogy, ok? The analogy is from lesser to greater, and I’m not saying a laptop can be compared in worth to a human being 🙂

