CNN projects Obama clinches nomination

****
I’m glad that Barack Obama has won out over Hillary Clinton, because of his attitude/platform of more open democracy, increased freedom from lobbyists and special interests, refusal to engage in some of the traditional politicking (e.g. gas tax holiday).

I’m saddened that Barack Obabma, who is (was?) a member of the United Church of Christ, doesn’t recognize the need to protect human rights in the case of the unborn child, who can only be described as an individual human being.

I’m glad that Barack Obama opposes same-sex marriage (I’m not sure what I think about his support for civil unions), but saddened that he also opposes a constitutional amendment to protect the definition of marriage nation-wide. (However, I’ve personally come to the conclusion that the same-sex marriage issue is more important at the cultural/social level, rather than from a legislative level)

Most of all, I’m saddened by Barack Obama’s open view on spirituality that leads him to believe that many paths lead to God, and what’s important is a “belief that there is a higher power” and “that we are connected as a people”.

Jesus told us a different story. He told the Pharisees, “I told you that you would die in your sins, for unless you believe that I am [he] you will die in your sins.” (John 8:24, modified from ESV)  He prayed, “And this is eternal life, that they know you the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent.” (John 17:3, ESV)  He told us that if we reject Jesus, we reject God.  He told us, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (from John 14:6, ESV)

As the Apostle Paul puts it in Philippians 3:8-9 (ESV, emphasis added)

Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith—

Indeed, if someone does not have Christ, all they’ve got is rubbish (which could be translated in the Greek, “crap”).  Jesus is our everything – our joy, our treasure, our forgiveness, our righteousness, our REAL audacity of hope in life, and the only reason God at the end of the day will say, “you’re ok; you’re better than ok”.

Accept no substitutes.

New Horizon

