So I’m currently at campus training days in Abbotsford, at a place called Summit Bible College or something like that.  It’s really great, except that I have to drive back to SFU tomorrow morning and work on my thesis more.  But before I get to that…

My day started off busy, with a trip to the dentist’s at Metrotown.  I had to pack all my stuff before I left, though, because I knew I would be ending up today in Abbotsford.  So I put it all into a big hockey bag, and went off to the bus.  Two buses later, I made it to Metrotown and trekked all the way to the dentist’s office. After that (I considered getting take out from Sushi garden for lunch, but it wasn’t open yet), I made my way back to the bus stop but a guy was still by the side of the lane that had a homeless sign or something, so I was able to give him my $1 McDonald’s gift certificate that I got from Winter Conference like 3 years ago (it’s still valid).  I didn’t want to give him any cash, because cash in the hands of unknown persons is not a good idea (e.g. it could be used to feed their substance abuse, or what not).  Better to actually feed them than feed a (potential) addiction to drugs or alcohol.  But I digress.

I made it back to SFU, worked on my thesis some more (I also like working on my laptop while on the bus), and then got a thesis date booked.  Yes, that’s right.  I now know when my thesis will be defended (i.e. the end is in sight). Then I went with my Mom to get her car, and I drove all the way down to Abbotsford.  Listening to AM 730 (all traffic, all the time), I found out that Hwy #1 was backed up from like 122nd to 192nd or something like that, so I took Lougheed Hwy instead and then I heard that there was an accident further down on Lougheed.  Who knows if I actually saved any time.  Anyhoo, I made it to campus training days (and I managed to catch the last 5-10 min of dinner service).

Campus training days is kind of like Summit (which we have every year at the end of September, as students) – except that it feels more like a family reunion for a really big extended family.  The opening session seemed to focus a lot on weddings, engagements, new children, and other personal things.  We actually recapped a lot of what we’ve been doing as a ministry across Canada, too, but it felt really integrated and it felt like people were sharing these things as naturally as if it had come up in conversation.

So staff is like family.  Kinda.  I’d be overly idealistic if i thought being a staff/intern is like being in one big (always) happy family, but it’s still at least nice to see that even personality-wise, I’m guessing it’s easier for people like these to get along with each other.  Like Johnson has said, “I think you need to be a certain kind of person to join staff” (or something like that).

Side note: I met a whole bunch of people from Waterloo and Western.  Ok, not a whole bunch.  But, for example, I met Andrew who grad’d from Waterloo two years ago in Comp Sci I think, and he knows Tabitha and Sarah  Also, I got to play hockey with him and Rod Alm. (though he thought you were more involved with IVCF at the time [I told him it was CCF]). Oh yeah, and Tab, Kolten Macher is an amazing MC.

I was really happy to see Josh and Deb Wong.  They got to share a bit about how they’re doing and some photos of Abel with the whole group, too.  It was also good to see Derek and Amy and all the ex-UBC/SFU students-turned-staff.  And the list goes on and on.  Silas, too (he’s using my guitar for worship leading)!  Ok, I’m going to stop naming names now, because I have to go work on my thesis and/or go to sleep.  I have to drive back to SFU tomorrow, the earlier the better (is what I’m now hearing from my prof).

Traffic on the way to Abbotsford
Traffic on the way to Abbotsford

The last-minute dinner I ate once I got there (it’s as good as it looks)
My last minute dinner at campus training days

Silas on the ice
Silas on the ice

Ha.  Muzungu.  And there’s a guy named Paul?
lots of names

To subscribe to my blog, click here
(if you choose to use GOOGLE Reader, it’s very easy!)

