Ok, I’m posting this now because I know I’d forget it if I didn’t.

CTV has been doing this series of commercials for ER, because apparently the final season is coming up.  ER is a longtime running show that I used to watch growing up (like, as long as 12 years ago?) and is credited with featuring stars like Anthony Edwards (who played “Goose” in Top Gun) and for inspiring the career aspirations of my sister (Dr. Shermeen Chan).  Plus, it had George Clooney in it.

Anyways, the series of ads has been cool, because it recaps significant moments across the series’ 14 year run (wow, I was watching it 14 years ago), like the time that Dr. Carter and that female (medical) resident got stabbed from behind by the guy with paranoid delusions.  Whose great idea was it to bring out a giant knife to cut birthday cake earlier in the episode?!  I blame that episode for making me afraid to walk into my bedroom in the dark without checking behind the door for, like, a couple of years (I was probably 14).  I think it’s part of the reason that I’m uneasy very cautious around knives to this day.

Anyways, I just wanted to end off with this observation: Abby married Luka?!  What the?!…  I guess that’s what happens when you don’t watch a show for like 6 years.

Memorable characters: Dr. Benton, Dr. Ross, Nurse Hathaway, Dr. Greene (and Dr. Greene day, August 25th), Dr. Maluchi (the guy who wasn’t very good at medicine), the girl resident who got (fatally) stabbed, Sally Fields’ character, the cool nurses who ran the desk and stuff, the arrogant surgeon guy whose arm got cut off by a helicoptor tail rotor, Dr. Morgenstern (played by William H. Macy), the list goes on and on….  Oh yeah, and Dr. what’s-her-name-because-I-should-really-remember-it who is Caucasian but grew up in South Africa or something and had to walk with a crutch/arm brace thingie (ok, I looked it up – her name was Dr. Weaver).  Btw, all of these characters aren’t on the show anymore (except maybe the last one is still on it).

Memorable moments: (other than the stabbing one), there was that episode where George Clooney’s character was a total hero and saved this kid from a storm drain during a huge storm (it was more dramatic than that).  George Clooney was rumored to be leaving the series at that point or something, but they decided to keep him and wrote up that episode I think.  Then there are all those crazy times they went to Africa and filmed on location (or so it seemed).  And there was that huge crazy bus crash that had Dr. Weaver’s character ranting about how school buses should be forced to use seat belts (“it’s like sending our kids off to the slaughter”).

Anyways, my point is that ER has probably influenced my life more than would be apparent.  Just like a lot of the other TV I’ve watched (I came to this conclusion about the influence of certain TV shows in my life when I started watching Star Trek: Voyager after a long… “absence”).  The power of the story-telling medium.

