Psalm 139

139:1 O Lord, you have searched me and known me!
2 You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
you discern my thoughts from afar.
3 You search out my path and my lying down
and are acquainted with all my ways.
4 Even before a word is on my tongue,
behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.
5 You hem me in, behind and before,
and lay your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
it is high; I cannot attain it.
(ESV)

I just finished watching the movie, Stranger Than Fiction.  It wasn’t quite what I expected, but it was much better than I thought it would be (minus a few moderately sketchy parts).

The movie is basically about an IRS tax agent, Harold Crick (played by Will Farrell), who suddenly has his life invaded by a female narrator’s voice that begins to detail his every action and describe even his innermost thoughts.  I’ll try not to spoil the movie for you, but it basically ends up blending the themes of what your life would be like if it was guided by an author (destiny), what it means to live a meaningful life, and what it means to “save” a person.

13 For you formed my inward parts;
you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
my soul knows it very well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
the days that were formed for me,
when as yet there was none of them.
(ESV, emphasis added)

Oh, what it would be like if there was really an Author who was as intimately acquainted with your life as the narrator was in Fiction.  Imagine if one was saved from the mundane meaninglessness of life not by a new love interest, nor simply by trying to do “good”.  Imagine if one were rescued from the inevitability and dominion of death, not by a renewed vigor to live out our limited set of days with more “enjoyment” (but doomed to the same, unrelenting end as has faced everyone before)–but rather, imagine if there really was a Narrator to our life, one who is true and good, and artful beyond even the best of our imaginations.  Yes, He is true, He is for us, and He has clued us in on the story.  This is why we can trust Him.

the truth is indeed stranger than fiction.

