Well, basically my Coast Capital Savings ATM card got compromised, somehow.  (this is the second time!)

Apparently somebody duplicated it (perhaps without actually having to actually be in contact with my real card), cracked the PIN, and withdrew the $400 max amount you can do so in a day.  This has happened once before, like half a year ago.  An interesting part is that this time they managed to withdraw $80 more on the same day, I think, too.  Anyways, CCS froze my card and I didn’t notice it until today when I tried to access online banking.  I guess this is what happens when you don’t use a particular debit card for half a month (that’s how long ago this happened).

I’m not too concerned, because other than the inconvenience of having to get a replacement card mailed to me and filling out the forms that say that I didn’ t actually make the withdrawal(s), I’m not going to lose anything.  It makes me think about how people would generally react if money was taken from them, though.

One particular thing I would say doesn’t seem to “bother” me too much is holding on to my money or material things.  Relatively speaking, anyways.  It’s hard to tell, because it’s hard to compare myself with the “average” person (what’s he/she supposed to be like?), but I will say that a natural reaction of mine if I ever find out that I will have more money coming to me, or an increase in pay, is usually: 1) this means more savings; and 2) this means I can give more to others.  The two are tied together in my head, I guess.  I say this at the risk of sounding self-congratulatory, because I think it’s worth putting out there – that perhaps each of us ought to be thinking less about how we can spend on ourselves but rather how we can give more in ways that are important and meaningful.

The reason I’m writing like this is because I am regularly “convicted” or impressed upon by the realization that I am filthy rich.  Currently, I’m earning a full-time minimum wage, but minimum wage in Ontario (and the whole of Canada) is still inconceivably high compared to what the average person earns in much of the world (think along the lines of a couple dollars a day).  Given my current expenses, I’m actually able to save money.  Now, to put this into some perspective, there’s a figure that’s been thrown around a lot about the need for clean water…

Apparently, $1 can provide a person with desperately needed clean drinking water for a year.

This is a stat I’ve heard from a lot of groups, such as Blood:Water mission and charity: water, etc.  I tried to find some basis for this figure, and one simple illustration of how one dollar can potentially save a life can be found on this page – simply put, if you build a $5,000 well in Latin America or a $15,000 deep well in Africa, it will provide enough clean water so as to average out to $1 per person per year.  The reason this is a big deal is because tainted water is one of the biggest killers in the world, especially of children.  It’s not the actual water that kills, but it’s the parasites and microorganisms that live in tainted water.  One statistic says that 1.8 million children die each year of diarrhea.  This doesn’t even count the whole familes that are sick with intestinal bugs and what not from the water they’re drinking, which renders them unable to be productive.  Women and young girls often times walk for hours every day just to get tainted water for their families that is making them sick.  But they have to, because it’s either be sick or die.  You need water.  (For a short page that explains a bit more about how dirty water kills people – click here)

I’m just going to stop here for the time being.  I was hoping this post would get us thinking about what’s truly important in the world, and what it means to be unselfish and more like Jesus.  I do think the most important need in the world is to be reconciled with God – to finally lay down our weapons, so to speak, and gain peace with Him through the forgiveness offered in Jesus Christ.  That’s infinitely more important than dying physically here on this Earth, whether it’s in the 1st world or the 3rd world.  But at the same time, if we truly know God in a personal way, then we can’t help but care about those who need help when we are able to help them.  In all things, I’m a big advocate of baby steps.  Just because you feel like you can’t do everything doesn’t mean you can’t do something.

Because ultimately, this fits into God’s plan for all of us who are His children – that we would know Him, delight in Him, and be changed by Him such that the whole world knows He is good and holy.

