Marketplace ministry
Occasional Paper No. 40, Lausanne Committee for World Evangelization

Haven’t read it yet, but I’m going to try and skim through it.  I think this is one of the issues of highest importance facing the North American church (possibly for my generation and my parents’ generation).

On this topic of “work” and what we should spend our lives doing, I anticipate two possible extremes that a Christian person may buy into:

  1. Secular work is meaningless – either you’re evangelizing or you’re wasting time; OR,
  2. Secular work is full and proper worship – evangelism and meeting spiritual needs is nice, but not necessary.

I “refuse” to believe either.  But where in between does the truth lie, and very importantly, “why?”

P.S. Yes, I just said that the truth lies.  Heh heh heh, I love my puns.  Especially the unintentional ones.

