I just read a good article on Desiring God on “Giving to Those Who Ask: It’s Just Hard”.  In it, Jon Bloom wrestles over part of Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount, and how we’re supposed to react when it tells us to “Give to the one who begs from you, and do not refuse the one who would borrow from you.” (Matthew 5:42, ESV).  Et cetera.

But from the words Jesus speaks here, I think it applies more often and more broadly than I want it to. He does not let me off the hook easily. He tests my heart with such radical love. And in my heart I see my selfish, unloving impulses that do not want to part with my money, possessions, time, or convenience for needy or evil people. And I have a ready arsenal of noble-sounding rationales that conceal my sin, almost from myself.

True, Mr. Bloom.  Very true indeed.

