Over the last few weeks or so, I’ve been at quite a few campus events with university students.  I had this thought recently while at one of those events – they are the future of our nation.

Now, that thought wasn’t too surprising to me.  After all, I’ve spent a lot of time as a student (and then as a campus intern) working with university students, trying to cast to them the vision that they are the future leaders of our nation and our world by virtue of the fact that they comprise the “elite” segment of our society that will benefit from a university education.  But what stunned me was the thought that followed.  Really, it should have been obvious to me, since it wasn’t too long ago that I was one of those “young people” on campus.

I am the future of our nation.

Oh no.  What a scary thought.

