Disclaimer: This is possibly the lamest (and also nerdiest) blog post I’ve ever written.  This is what happens when I don’t filter myself enough…  Consider yourself warned!

I gave my “new” (second hand) computer a name when I re-installed Windows Vista 64-bit edition: Penry-Charis.

Penry, in keeping with my tradition of naming computers based off their processor families/codenames (technically, it’s the Wolfdale core, which is the desktop counterpart to Penryn).

Charis (pronounced, “Care – iss”), because it’s the Greek word for grace – aka “kindness” or “undeserved favor”.  It could really be a one word summary for Christianity, and I picked it while reading my Bible shortly before having to pick a name.

I settled on Penry-Charis because I couldn’t decide between the two, and the realization that its initials are “PC” sealed the deal.  It works on so many levels.

I think I will just call it (“him”?) as Penry, although I did try referring to it as “Charis” at first (which is where the name “Charisse” comes from, apparently).

But now of days, I just refer to it as my “supercomputer”.  It’s ridiculously fast, especially because of the $200 128GB SSD hard drive it runs off of.  That was also 2nd hand 😛 Go Craigslist!

P.S. Did I mention it’s ridiculously fast?  I feel like a kid in a candy store who was given a $50 gift card to said store. How did this happen!? This is the least amount of money I’ve ever spent on a computer, but the fastest computer I’ve ever owned relative to what’s been considered “state-of-the-art” at the time.  (Well, admittedly, my CPU’s only dual core, and a generation old.  But for most games and single/dual-threaded applications, it probably holds its own against the i3’s and i5’s.  All in all, $380 for the system, $200 for the SSD, and $150 for my used Samsung 2343 monitor [23″, 2048-1152 resolution, no dead pixels])

