(From my Facebook page)

Mobilize practical help for Metro Vancouver’s homeless
(http://www.refresheverything.ca/ugm – Union Gospel Mission)

“I’ve met the person at UGM who is spearheading this grant campaign, actually – it’s worth voting for! $100k would be enough to fund a SECOND Mobile Mission vehicle for a full year. The first one has already proven itself in action!”

Right now, they’re at #4 in the voting.  The #1 choice will receive the $100,000 grant from Pepsi, so I would really like to see UGM’s Mobile Mission regain the top spot!  I say regain, because earlier today they were at #1, but they’ve since fallen behind to:

  1. Windsor/Essex County Humane Society (Build a Veterinary Clinic Focused on Spay/Neuter)
  2. British Columbia Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Help find long-term solutions to the tragedy of pet overpopulation.)
  3. Rainbow Youth Centre Inc. (Beyond “Canada’s Worst Neighbourhood”: Healthy Kids Under the Rainbow) – located in Regina, SK

All are good causes, although I must admit that I’m upset that 2 out of the 3 projects that have displaced UGM’s mobile mission are for helping animals instead of people.  At any rate, I do think UGM has both the experience, the know-how, and the opportunity to turn a $100,000 grant into real, meaningful, and hopefully life-long results.

So, what are you waiting for?  Sign up to vote (like me)!
http://www.refresheverything.ca/ugm

EDIT: You’re allowed to vote for 10 different ideas each day, so make sure you vote for UGM every day until Oct 31st!

Or, if you don’t feel like voting, then enjoy the cool pictures I’ve linked to below!

P.S. “Project Legacy” is an unofficial name that I totally made up.  So don’t blame me if you ask them and nobody at UGM knows what you’re talking about 😛

P.P.S. Here’s a special treat – some images of the current ly only UGM Mobile Mission vehicle in action!




