Why Chinese Mothers are Superior – by Amy Chua – Wall Street Journal
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704111504576059713528698754.html

I still haven’t read this article in it’s entirety.  I’ve heard that it’s gone viral.  But I finally read a bit more of it today, and the few paragraphs I traversed caused me to start talking to myself – loudly (to no one in particular) – and eventually infuriated me to such an extent that I found myself walking out to the kitchen, by myself, standing still and straight, with my right fist clenched tightly.

Wow.  I guess I was angry.

The part I read was the difficult piano piece example, where Amy Chua basically threatens and terrorizes her daughter over a long period of time into performing what she thought was previously unattainable.  And the satisfaction and boost in self confidence that her daughter gained as a result (as Ms. Chua claims, anyways) was seen to justify and validate her methods.

To that, I have a few thoughts.

  1. Machiavelli: the ends justify the means
  2. What exactly did she learn through this?
  3. My brother-in-law once told me that he believes your parenting philosophy reveals your true theology.

I will expand upon items #1 through #3, but that will have to wait for a later post.  For now, all I will say is:

…aaarryeaahhhggghhhhhh!

