I read this article a few weeks ago or so, and I was completely and utterly blown away by it. As in, it felt like everything I had believed in before was a lie – a sham! It was like a complete paradigm shift.

In short, my mind was blown.

I had always been taught – and I had forced this belief upon others – that whenever you end a sentence with a period, you should always type out two spaces before the start of the next sentence. Boy, how wrong was I. As it turns out, you are supposed to use only ONE space after a period.

Two spaces after a period: Why you should never, ever do it
by Farhad Manjoo (Slate Magazine)
http://www.slate.com/id/2281146/

“Can I let you in on a secret? Typing two spaces after a period is totally, completely, utterly, and inarguably wrong. And yet people who use two spaces are everywhere, their ugly error crossing every social boundary of class, education, and taste…” (read more)

